Developing methods of analysis for multiple-strata works


Investigations from the field of auditive perception, in particular the work of Bregman and colleagues (Auditory Scene Analysis, MIT Press, 1990) are applied to works such as


Stravinsky's Rite of Spring

Varèse's Amériques

Messiaen's Turangalîla

Ives' Fourth Symphony

Bartók's Music for Strings, Percussion & Celesta


The basic concepts of this work were presented in two talks and taught in the context of senior undergraduate analysis classes several times in Portugal & Canada.  They are now being organized into a book titled Sorting out the Strata.